Inspiration Wednesday

January 8, 2015 § Leave a comment

Well, as you can see by my frequency,  it’s been more than two years since I truly created something I felt like sharing.  And about that long since I’ve really gotten the creative urge.

My two resolutions for 2015 were:

1) Focus on the positive, and

2) Create daily.

So here I am, creating.  I signed up for Donna Downey’s Inspiration Wednesday art journaling class. So if all else fails, I get a swirl kick in the fanny every other week.

I started by figuring out just what I wanted to use for a journal,  and settled on 16×20 canvas paper which I had around the house. Folding into quarters, I could create four 8×10 pages per piece. I put two folded sections together, creating an eight – page signature, with four pockets.

I decided to cut the inner piece across the top, creating a 12-page, 2-pocket signature.

image

I’ve made a total of 5 signatures, which I plan to bind later, so I can change up the sizes of the projects and add inserts.

image

Today’s first lesson covered layering and paint techniques, using acrylic paint, gesso, modeling paste and stencils. I busted into my old Club Scrap stash and developed an “art is” theme, including various word stencils throughout. Also being on a budget, I used drywall paste rather than modeling paste. It was suggested to me as an inexpensive alternative and now that I’ve used both, I can certainly agree. That said, patience is key.
image

image

image

image

image

I cannot wait until the next IW2015 class. But in the interim, I hope to keep creating.

Products used:
Felix canvas paper
Liquitex gesso, glaze, and paint
Club Scrap letter and word stencils
Heidi Swapp honeycomb stencil
Canvas tag from stash
Tim Holtz distress ink, Walnut Stain

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Inspiration Wednesday at .

meta

